Gann for Stoolies

First of all, I want to emphasize to all, I am no Gann expert or "recognized" Gann Trader. What I have learned is from home studies including Halliker's Gann Masters I and II and Gann's Commodity Course, Bill McClaren's Gann Made Easy, Ruff's Application of Gann's Natural Laws, Ferrera's Gann Pyramid-Square of Nine essentials and many various articles in Trader's World Magazine and other publications. Most enlightening was the expensive time I spent in Connie Brown's Gann Course. And last but not least, tidbits from some of the many trader's I know.

Software that I use for Gann Analysis:

Gannalyst 3.0 Professional

Gann Trader 3

Metastock- mostly my own home brew Gann formulas since very little is available for Gann Analysis using MS.

Volumes have been written about WDGann and somewhere I read Gann's writings themselves were enough to fill a small town public library! So where to start?

Well, I am a very practical sort of person I like to think so we are going to skip over a lot of Gann funnymentals and go right to charting with something useful that we have already been discussing, Gann Squaring of a Low. It is the simplest method of Gann to apply and so seems "stupid" that it even works!

The low must be a MAJOR multi-month and better yet multi-year low. Of course you don't know this right away but as time passes and you suspect it may be a significant low, draw the chart and watch it.

Simply take the low price and project it forward in PRICE and TIME. I have found WEEKLY charts are the most often timeframe that "work" although it can be done with daily and monthly charts. Also divide the low by 2 and plot the 1/2 increments.