IDS World 7 May 2003

Please forward this to your friends, ASAP.

To: Staff

RE: Please Respond ASAP

Please feel free to read this message at your leisure. However, when you have done so, please respond with your thoughts, if any, ASAP.

When I was a young Military Officer in training I was given a very specific definition of "ASAP". The Military established very firm guidelines about how that phrase was to be interpreted, especially when used in written orders or requests, such as from a superior to a subordinate or between two peers. As you can imagine, in the heat of battle what one person thinks are clear and precise instructions can sometimes be misinterpreted by another. Military history is full of examples where miscommunications resulted in disaster--The Charge of the Light Brigade being a particularly germane example.

So here is the definition of "ASAP" that the Military taught me (and since military traditions die hard, it is probably still in use.)

"ASAP" or "As soon as possible" is to be in interpreted as "As soon as practical given the totality of the situation that you are facing". The assumption here is that the person issuing the "ASAP" request cannot possibly comprehend the situation the receiver faces nor the other demands and challenges he has and how the request fits into his current activities or battle plan.

So, if something is not practical at all, "ASAP" means that it will likely never get done, and that's acceptable according to the Military definition. It is up to the individual being told or asked to do something "ASAP" to determine if what he is being asked to do makes sense and to do it at that individual's convience, not the requestor's.