This Says It All

Good morning, everyone! :)

I just couldn't resist the temptation to open this thread at precisely this moment in (ET) time.

And if I am still the IDS Steward exactly one year and one month and one day and one hour and one minute from now, guess what's goin' to happen then . . . :grin:

My friend Rick recently emailed me the following story. It's something that I had seen once before a number of years ago (but had subsequently lost track of), so it's possible that at least some of you have also seen it before. And it's a little on the long side, even for the first opening commentary for the week (and in this case for the month also).

And with that being said I cannot think of any better way to start off both the new week and the new month. Because this is what it's all about.

A STORY OF GIVING

One day, when I was a freshman in high school, I saw a kid from my class was walking home from school. His name was Kyle. It looked like he was carrying all of his books. I thought to myself, "Why would anyone bring home all his books on a Friday? He must really be a nerd."

I had quite a weekend planned (parties and a football game with my friends tomorrow afternoon), so I shrugged my shoulders and went on.

As I was walking, I saw a bunch of kids running toward him. They ran at him, knocking all his books out of his arms and tripping him so he landed in the dirt. His glasses went flying, and I saw them land in the grass about ten feet from him. He looked up and I saw this terrible sadness in his eyes.

My heart went out to him. So, I jogged over to him and as he crawled around looking for his glasses, and I saw a tear in his eye. As I handed him his glasses, I said, "Those guys are jerks. They really should get lives." He looked at me and said, "Hey thanks!" There was a big smile on his face. It was one of those smiles that showed real gratitude.